Burning Books
Back to category
Q+1: short fiction from the QUADRANTS SERIES authors

Q+1  short works from the QUADRANTS SERIES authors          EVENTS
ISBN: 978-0-936050-37-9
authors: Robert Ashley, Sumner Carnahan, Thomas Frick, L.K. Larsen
136 pp., 6.875 x 4.25 in., offset, paper covers
> purchase here  /  or $45 for 5 book Quadrants Series Set
Also available as an e-book. Buy it directly from your favorite e-book provider.

Q+1 is a bonus book included with the four-novel Quadrants Series. The center point in Q+1 is simply enough the short story: an elastic vessel for fiction, able to accommodate narrative arcs, whether revealed in a chaptered micro-bildungsroman, as in Robert Ashley’s “The Hardware Days Almost Gone”; manifested as computer instructions in Sumner Carnahan’s “Authentic Incarnation”; told through the unreliable dual-point-of-view narrator in Thomas Frick’s “Troubadour Awakening”; or, with a flash of epiphany, as in L. K. Larsen’s “Leave a Message.” By pushing the short story in these ways, the works demonstrate the realization of Frick’s narrator when he quotes literary theorist George Steiner: “Difficulty is the armature of meaning.” Certainly, many of the fourteen pieces in Q+1—and the novels they accompany—push story to its limits. And still the center holds. –Julia Goldberg

• Mary-Charlotte Domandi interviews Q+1 authors Robert Ashley, Sumner Carnahan, and L.K. Larsen, and designer Michael Sumner about the Quadrants Series on KSFR 101.1 FM ((( play audio )))

   THE QUADRANTS SERIES   debut novels by seasoned writers